Hajilol, Sonika are the champions


Parasappa Madevappa Hajilol of Karnataka and Haryana’s Sonika were crowned the National Cross Country 10km champions at the 55th edition of the event at the ATS Golf Meadows, near Chandigarh, on Sunday. The course, with two kilometre grassy loops, was designed with undulations and slushy sections.

The 25-year-old Hajilol from Bijapur, who clocked 31 minutes, 13.21 seconds, surprised several seasoned favourites, including defending champion Anish Thapa Magar in a race that began under a blanket of fog that only made conditions more difficult for the 224 runners in the men’s section.

The women did not have any such weather difficulties and 21-year old Sonika completed the race in 37 minutes, 9.53 seconds, ahead of the Maharashtrian duo of Komal Jagdale and Nikita Raut in the 173-strong field. Defending champion Kavita Yadav was relegated to fourth.


The results:

Men 10km: 1. Parasappa Madevappa Hajilol (Kar, 31:13.21), 2. Vikram Bangriya (MP, 31:15.21), 3. Adesh Yadav (Mah, 31:19.41); Under-20 8km: 1. Prince Nagar (Har, 26:04.87), 2. Sushant Jedhe (Mah, 26:06.22), 3. Indrajeet Farak (Mah, 26:27.36); Under-18 6km: 1. Gagan Singh (Har, 19:55.74), 2. Naveen Chouhan (MP, 20:01.90), 3. Karan Gahandule (Mah, 20:11.85); Under-16 2km: 1. Rohit (Har, 6:12.34), 2. Walter Kandulna (TN, 6:12.95), 3. Rahul Verma (UP, 6:17.68).

Women 10km: 1. Sonika (Har, 37:09.53), 2. Komal Chandra Jagdale (Mah, 37:11.40), 3. Nikita Raut (Mah, 37:12.71); Under-20 6km: 1. Rebi Pal (UP, 22:37.78), 2. Chatru Gumnaram (Raj, 22:52.07), 3. Kajal Sharma (UP, 22:52:21); Under-18 4km: 1. Supriti Kachhap (Jha, 14:40.53), 2. Aakancha Kerketta (TN, 15:02.36), 3. Urmila Bishnoi (Raj, 15:08.35); Under-16 2km: 1. Sunita Devi (UP, 6:37.30), 2. Priyanka Madivalappa (Kar, 7:16.11), 3. Sanika Rupnar (Mah, 7:19.18).


Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 


 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More