Harmilan and Siddhant reign on a lacklustre day


The former betters own mark in 800m, while the latter asserts himself in 110m hurdles

Harmilan Bains clocked a personal best to win the 800m and Siddhant Thingalaya reaffirmed his dominance in the 110m hurdles, but there was little to cheer about on the third day of the National Inter-State Athletics Championships here on Sunday. Most athletes did not even come close to their own bests.

None of the top quartermilers in the country participated in the individual 400m heats in the morning session, presumably to preserve energy for the relay on the final day of the competition. While none of them is in with a chance to make the cut for Tokyo though rankings, it was surprising to see them not even attempt to better their timings.


In the women’s 400m, the elusive Anjali Devi skipped the event while V.K. Vismaya, a key member of both the women’s and the mixed relay teams, failed to qualify for the final, finishing the heats with a slow time of 55.33, further adding to selection issues in the absence of Hima Das.

In the evening, Thingalaya won the 110m hurdles in 14.11 seconds while Bains took gold clocking two minutes, 2.57 seconds. It was almost four minutes faster than her previous best over the distance as per IAAF records, set in February last.

The results:


Men: 800m: 1. Krishan Kumar (Har, 1:50.15), 2. Anu Kumar (Utk, 1:51.05), 3. Manjit Singh (Har, 1:51.44); 5000m: 1. Kartik Kumar (UP, 14:42.76), 2. Adesh Yadav (Mah, 14:45.75), 3. Arjun Kumar (UP, 15:01.21); 110mH: 1. Siddhant Thingalaya (Mah, 14.11s), 2. Mohd. Fais C (Ker, 14.34), 3. Amrinder Singh Aulakh (Pun, 14.48); Triple Jump: 1. Eldhose Paul (Ker, 16.58m), 2. Karthik U (Ker, 16.54m), 3. Abdulla Aboobacker (Ker, 16.37m); Discus: 1. Kirpal Singh (Pun, 58.90m), 2. Harpreet Singh (Pun, 57.73m), 3. Gagandeep Singh (Pun, 56.33m).

Women: 800m: 1. Harmilan Bains (Pun, 2:02.57), 2. Chanda (Del, 2:03.36), 3. Nimali Liyanaarachchi (SL, 2:05.69); High jump: 1. Angel Devasia (Ker, 1.65m), Giji George Stephen (TN, 1.60m); Pole vault: 1. Baranica Elangovan (TN, 3.90m), 2. Babita Patel (MP, 3.40m), Rosy Paulraj (TN, 3.30m); Heptathlon: 1. Sonu Kumari (Har, 5004 pts), 2. Kajal (Har, 4740), Madhu (Har, 4357).

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook


We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News


Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More