India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI: Shikhar Dhawan elects to bat as 5 players make debut; 6 changes for tourists

Having already won the series 2-0, India have decided to hand debut caps to five players and made six changes to their playing eleven. The last time Team India handed debut caps to five players in an ODI game was back in 1980 against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) when five players made their ODI debuts for the national side.

After their inaugural ODI match, Team India handed debut caps to Dilip Doshi, Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, Sandeep Patil, and Tirumalai Srinivasan in December 1980. Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, K Gowtham, and Rahul Chahar were handed their debut caps while pacer Navdeep Saini became the sixth player to make it to the playing XI on July 23.

After winning the toss, India captain Shikhar Dhawan did his trademark thigh-five and later spoke about the changes team is going to make.

“We’ll bat first. We want to put up a good total on the board. We have got six changes and five debutants. Navdeep comes in among the debutants. We are motivated, and we want to finish on a high. With the youngsters coming in, we are really excited and looking forward,” said Dhawan, who’ll open the innings with his IPL teammate Prithvi Shaw.

India coach Rahul Dravid has decided to rest Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar who were part of the side in the first two ODIs. Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka also revealed his team is going to make three changes to the side.

“I think the wicket is dry and should stay good. We have three changes: Praveen Jayawickrama, Akila Dananjaya, and Ramesh Mendis come in. I think we are on the right track at the moment and winning this is important to go forward,” said Shanaka.

Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama.

India: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan(c), Sanju Samson(w), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Nitish Rana, Hardik Pandya, Krishnappa Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More