Instagram: How to delete or temporarily disable account and download all data

Updated: November 27, 2020 4:05:47 pm
Here we take a look at how you can delete or temporarily disable your Instagram account.
Wondering how to delete or temporarily disable Instagram account? You just need to follow a few simple steps for this. The good thing is Instagram allows you to download all your data. The company takes up to 48 hours to email you a download link. The app lets you download data even when you are not deleting your account.
Instagram says that your account and all your information will be permanently deleted after 30 days of the account deletion request. Needless to say, once you delete everything, you won’t be able to retrieve your information. Now, let’s take a look at how you can delete your Instagram account and download all the data.
How to delete your Instagram account
Step 1: First you need to visit the Delete Your Account page either from a mobile browser or computer. If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web, then you will have to first log in. Do note that the company doesn’t allow you to delete your Instagram account from within the app.
Step 2: Select an option from the dropdown menu, which is placed next to Why are you deleting your account? and you will be required to re-enter your Instagram password. Note that you will get the option to permanently delete your account only when you select a reason from the menu.
Step 3: Click or tap Permanently delete my account.

