IPL 2021 Points Table Update: Orange Cap and Purple Cap List After SRH vs MI Match 55

Mumbai Indians failed to reach the playoffs, finishing 5th in the IPL points table.© BCCI/IPL

Despite defeating SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 42 runs in Match 55, Mumbai Indians (MI) failed to qualify for the playoffs of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 season at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Friday. MI won the toss and elected to bat. Brilliant knocks from Ishan Kishan (84 off 32 balls) and Suryakumar Yadav (82 off 40 balls) helped Mumbai post 235 for nine in 20 overs. Jason Holder was in good form for SRH, taking four wickets in four overs but conceded 52 runs. Chasing a target of 236, Hyderabad could only muster 193 for eight in 20 overs, with Manish Pandey smashing an unbeaten knock of 69 off 41 balls. James Neesham, Jasprit Bumrah and Nathan Coulter-Nile were in top form for MI, taking two wickets each respectively.

IPL 2021 Points Table

Delhi Capitals (DC) finished the league phase on top of the IPL 2021 Points Table. The Rishabh Pant-led side bagged 20 points in 14 games. They are followed by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in second with 18 points.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are third with 18 points, but with a lower net run-rate as compared to CSK. RCB are followed by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in fourth for the final playoff spot.

MI are fifth in the table with 14 points and a lower net run-rate to KKR. They are followed by Punjab Kings (PBKS) in sixth. Rajasthan Royals (RR) occupy seventh place with SRH bottom with six points.

Orange Cap Race

KL Rahul is on top of the Orange Cap Race with 626 runs in 13 games. Punjab failed to qualify for the playoffs so the wicketkeeper-batsman won’t get a chance to add to his tally.

He is followed by CSK’s Faf du Plessis (546) in second position.

DC’s Shikhar Dhawan (544) occupies third position, followed by Ruturaj Gaikwad (533) and Glenn Maxwell (498).

Dhawan, Du Plessis, Gaikwad and Maxwell have a chance to overtake Rahul in the playoffs stage.

Purple Cap Race


Harshal Patel is still on top in the Purple Cap Race with 30 wickets in 14 games. He is followed by DC’s Avesh Khan (22) in second position.

MI’s Jasprit Bumrah (21) is third, followed by Mohammed Shami (19) and Rashid Khan (18).

Topics mentioned in this article

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More