Khelo India University Games: Siva and Srihari make a splash

Swimmers Siva Sridhar and Srihari Nataraj led the charge for hosts Jain University, clinching three gold medals and all three of them in record times, in the Khelo India University Games here on Monday.

While Siva finished ahead of the pack in men’s 200m IM and 100m backstroke, Srihari touched the pad first in 50m freestyle.

Elsewhere, in volleyball, the SRM University men’s and women’s teams entered their respective summit clashes with contrasting wins. The men’s outfit fought hard to defeat MG University 22-25, 25-16, 23-25, 27-25, 15-9, while the women recorded an easy 25-20, 25-14, 25-15 win over Adamas University.

The results (winners all):

Swimming: Men: 50m freestyle: Srihari Nataraj (Jain) 23.23 (NMR; Old: 23.78, Mihir Ambre, Bhubaneswar, 2020); 400m freestyle: Shubham Dhaygude (Savitribai Phule) 4:17.67; 200m IM: Siva Sridhar (Jain) 2:05.43 (NMR; Old: 2:13.66, Thirumaran Sethumanickam, Bhubaneswar, 2020); 100m backstroke: 1. Siva Sridhar (Jain) 57.38 (NMR; Old: 58.69, Siddhanth Sejwal, Bhubaneshwar, 2020); 200m breaststroke: 1. Danush Sekhar (Anna) 2:20.17 (NMR; Old: 2:23.41, SP Likhit, Bhubaneswar, 2020).

Women: 50m freestyle: Rujuta Khade (Shivaji) 27.38 (NMR; Old: 28.00, Sadhvi Dhuri, Bhubaneswar, 2020); 400m freestyle: V. Varsha (Madras) 4:59.63; 4x200m freestyle relay: University of Madras 9:53.66; 100m backstroke: Shrungi Bandekar (Jain) 1:07.50 (NMR; Old: 1:10.42, Damini Gowda, Bhubaneswar, 2020); 200m breaststroke: Jyoti Patil (Mumbai) 2:46.54.

Badminton (team, quarterfinals): Men: Punjabi bt Devi Ahilya 3-0; Jain bt Maharshi Dayanand 3-2; SRM bt Dibrugarh 3-0; Women: Madhurai Kamaraj bt Panjab 2-0; SRM bt Barkatullah 2-0.

Volleyball (semifinals): Men: SRM bt MG 22-25, 25-16, 23-25, 27-25, 15-9; Women: SRM bt Adamas 25-20, 25-14, 25-15; Bharathiar bt MG 25-19, 25-15, 25-20.

Basketball: Men: Kurukshetra bt 73-67; Madras bt Mumbai 100-54; Women: MG bt GNDU 96-79; Madras bt Mumbai 100-54.

Hockey: Men: Bangalore 6 (S. Harsha 5, B. Yathish Kumar 13, 49, BN Chelsea Medappa 19, 37, ND Chiranth Somanna 58) bt Lovely Professional 1 (Lovepreet Jainth 42); Savitribai Phule 3 (Rohan Patil 37, 51, Taleb Shah 43) bt Punjabi 2 (Harmeet Singh 34, 35); Sambalpur 3 (Nabin Kujur 39, 42, 52) drew with Bangalore City 3 (Pranam 29, 57, 58); Guru Nanak Dev 4 (Rajinder Singh 44, 59, Surdarshan Singh 29, Ranjot Singh 42) bt VBS Purvanchal 1 (Suraj Shahi 23).

Women: Ranchi 3 (Pramila Soreng 23, Betan Dungdung 33, Albela Rani Toppo 35) bt Savitribai Phule 2 (Pooja Shendage 14, 42).

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More