NASCAR at Las Vegas live updates, results, highlights from the South Point 400

Twelve drivers remain in pursuit of a NASCAR Cup Series championship.

The first of three races in the playoffs Round of 12 kicks off Sunday night at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Polesitter Kyle Larson (3,059 points) enters the race with a 30-point lead in the playoff standings over Martin Truex Jr. (3,029).

LAS VEGAS LINEUP: Starting order, pole for race without qualifying

Larson is the most recent winner in Vegas, having won the Pennzoil 400 in March, but Joey Logano should also be coming into the race with confidence. He won the race in 2019 and 2020.

A win by a playoff driver in this race will guarantee him a spot in the Round of 8, but placing highly in this race will be critical to the playoff hopes of all 12 drivers with a challenging race at Talladega Superspeedway next week.

Sporting News is tracking live updates and lap-by-lap highlights from NASCAR’s race at Las Vegas on Sunday night. Follow below for complete results from the South Point 400.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

NASCAR at Las Vegas live updates, highlights from South Point 400

7:35 p.m.: First five off pit road: Kyle Busch, Hamlin, Blaney, Larson and Harvick.

7:35 p.m.: Most of the field is making the stop on pit road.

7:33 p.m.: Competition caution brought out for lap 25.

7:30 p.m.: Byron has moved up 25 spots, now up to No. 10, while Truex has moved up 17 spots to No. 19. Both had to start in the rear, but have made serious waves on lap 19.

7:24 p.m.: Hamlin has now worked the inside to cut in front of Blaney for the lead. Busch and Larson were riding side-by-side, but it’s Busch that stays out in front with Blaney sticking in second.

7:23 p.m.: Hamlin and Kyle Busch are now at second and third, but it’s a tight race. The top seven are all within a second of first six laps into the race.

7:21 p.m.: Ryan Blaney doesn’t take long to take the lead ahead of Larson. Hamlin is trying to work the outside to get in ahead of Larson to move into second.

7:20 p.m.: The Round of 12 is officially underway. 

7:08 p.m.: UFC president Dana White gives the command to drivers.

7:08 p.m.: Both William Byron and Martin Truex Jr. will have to start in the rear after failing pre-race inspections.

7:01 p.m.: Matt Stell singing the national anthem during the pre-race ceremonies.

6:45 p.m.: Drivers are being introduced ahead of tonight’s race. Here’s one of the most popular in Vegas.

6:30 p.m.: A couple of milestones for the Busch brothers. Kurt Busch is starting race No. 750 of his NASCAR Cup Series career and Kyle Busch racing in No. 600.

NASCAR start time today

  • Time: 7 p.m. ET (TV time)
  • TV channel: NBCSN (TSN in Canada)
  • Live stream: | NBC Sports App | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The green flag for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s 1.5-mile oval is scheduled to drop at 7:19 p.m. ET.

Desert heat will be the biggest weather concern for drivers and teams on Sunday. The National Weather Service’s Sunday forecast for Las Vegas is for sunny skies and a high temperature in the low 90s. Skies will remain clear Sunday night with a low in the high 60s. The race is scheduled to begin in the late afternoon and end after sunset Pacific time.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson leads the playoff points standings as the Round of 12 begins. He’s 30 points clear of second-place driver Martin Truex Jr. Tied for third are Denny Hamlin and Ryan Blaney, another five points back.

On the other end are the drivers below the Round of 8 cut line: Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Christopher Bell and Kevin Harvick. Logano is just one point behind eighth-place driver William Byron, however.

A playoff driver who wins a race in the Round of 12 automatically advances to the Round of 8. 

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle Larson 3059
2 Martin Truex Jr. 3029
3 Denny Hamlin 3024
4 Ryan Blaney 3024
5 Kyle Busch 3022
6 Chase Elliott 3021
7 Alex Bowman 3015
8 William Byron 3014
9 Joey Logano 3013
10 Brad Keselowski 3008
11 Christopher Bell 3005
12 Kevin Harvick 3002

NASCAR starting lineup at Las Vegas

Here is the complete NASCAR starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, the South Point 400.

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
2 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
3 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
8 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
9 P-Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
10 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
15 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
16 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
17 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
19 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
20 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
21 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
23 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
24 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
25 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
27 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
28 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
30 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
31 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
32 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
33 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
34 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
35 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
36 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
37 Joey Gase 15 Rick Ware Racing
38 JJ Yeley 66 Motorsports Business Management

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More