Para-Athletes Will Win More Medals In Future, Says Paralympic Gold Medallist Pramod Bhagat | Other Sports News

Pramod Bhagat will receive Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award on Saturday.© Twitter

Indian shuttler Pramod Bhagat, who clinched gold in the Tokyo Paralympics, said the athletes will keep on the winning more medals in upcoming tournaments. Pramod Bhagat along with 11 other athletes will be given Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award on Saturday. “I’m receiving Khel Ratna Award this year. I feel good because the nation treated able-bodied and para-athletes equally. We won 19 medals in Paralympics, we’ll win more medals in the time to come and keep bringing laurels to the nation,” Pramod told ANI.

“When I went to Tokyo I was Pramod Bhagat but when I came back my state gave me a name ‘Golden Promod Bhagat’. Central and state government supported me and provided me all the facilities during the COVID-19 times to train for the game,” he added.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award will be given to 12 sportspersons including Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Kumar (Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Sreejesh PR (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Para Shooting), Sumit Antil (Para Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para Badminton), Krishna Nagar (Para Badminton), Manish Narwal (Para Shooting), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football), and Manpreet Singh (Hockey).

All men’s Hockey India team who won the historic bronze medal in Tokyo 2020 Olympics have been awarded Arjun Award with the exceptions of PR Sreejesh and Manpreet Singh.


Coming back to Pramod, the Badminton World Federation (BWF) on Thursday revealed the nominees for the BWF Player of the Year Awards 2020/2021.

Pramod has been nominated in the Male Para-Badminton Player of the Year category and the Para-Badminton Pair of the Year category alongside Manoj Sarkar.

Topics mentioned in this article

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More