Saurabh Chaudhary clinches bronze at ISSF World Cup | More sports News – Times of India

OSIJEK (Croatia): Saurabh Chaudhary opened India’s account at the ISSF World Cup here with a bronze in the men’s 10m air pistol event after the country’s shooters endured a modest opening day on which podium finishes eluded the likes of Manu Bhaker and Elavenil Valarivan.
The 19-year-old Saurabh scored 220 in the final after qualifying with a score of 581. Compatriot Abhishek Verma finished fifth in the same event with a score of 179.3 after also shooting 581 in the qualifying.
Manu finished seventh in the women’s 10m air pistol event with a score of 137.3 in the final, while Elavenil, along with two others, failed to make the finals of the women’s 10m air rifle competition.
Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar finished seventh in the men’s 10m air rifle final.
The event is the Indian shooting team’s final competitive outing before the Olympics in Tokyo.
The 20-year-old Aishwary, who finished with a score of 628 in the qualification round, shot a total of 143.9 before being eliminated from the final.
Deepak Kumar (626) and Divyansh Singh Panwar (624.7) failed to make the final, ending 14th and 25th respectively in the qualifying round.
In another disappointing show, the trio of Anjum Moudgil, Apurvi Chandela and Valarivan could not enter the finals of the women’s 10m air rifle event.
Apurvi had the best result among the three women, finishing 24th with a score of 624.2.
While Anjum managed 622.3 to be placed 42nd in the qualification, Elavenil (621.2) also copped a two-point penalty for protesting a shot that was correctly scored.
The 21-year-old Elavenil, a junior World Cup gold medallist, initially scored a total of 623.2 points to finish 35th but the two point penalty meant she slipped to the 55th spot.
According to the ISSF rules, if the Results, Timing and Scoring (RTS) jury determines that a protested shot was scored correctly, a two point penalty is imposed on the shooter.
Apart from Manu, the women’s 10m air pistol final also featured Yashaswini Singh Deswal, who ended eighth with a score of 117.1. While Manu had qualified sixth for the final with a score of 577, Yashaswini was a notch above with an effort of 578.
Rahi Sarnobat could not make the finals, ending 13th with a score of 572.
Antoaneta Kostadinova of Bulgaria won the gold in women’s 10m air pistol with a score of 240.

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.


For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More