Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Rahane’s 75 goes in vain as Karnataka beat Mumbai by 9 runs | Cricket News – Times of India

GUWAHATI: Karnataka stunned heavyweights Mumbai by nine runs despite Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane’s 75 off 54 balls in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy group B match on Thursday.
Leg-spinner KC Cariappa turned it around with two wickets in two balls to end with fine figures of 3/26, while off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham also contributed immensely with his 2/26 as Karnataka restricted Mumbai to 157/6, defending 166.
Opting to bowl, Mumbai skipper Rahane led their challenging chase with a fine half-century but the mystery spinner Cariappa removed the star Indian batsman and cleaned up another international Shivam Dube (3) with his very next ball to put brakes on their chase.
Gowtham then triggered another collapse when he dismissed Siddhesh Lad (32) to break his 88-run partnership with Rahane.
Rahane steered the show after his dangerous opening partner Prithvi Shaw (4) fell cheaply, while talented Yashasvi Jaiswal (13) became Gowtham’s first victim after the Powerplay.
Rahane’s 54-ball knock was studded with six fours and three sixes as Mumbai were cruising with 125 for 2 in the 16th over before all hell broke loose.
Cariappa’s magical bowling at the death meant Mumbai needed 24 runs off the final over with four wickets in hand as seamer Prasidh Krishna ensured that they fell short by nine runs.
Earlier Manish Pandey (84 from 64 balls; 7×4, 2×6) and Karun Nair (72 from 53 balls; 6×4, 2×6) put on a 149-run partnership to power Karnataka to a challenging 166/4.
Put on, Karnataka had a jittery start with debutant Mumbai seamer Mohit Avasthi taking two wickets in his first two overs en route to his 2/32.
India’s back-up Test opener Mayank Agarwal was out for a golden duck, while the talented youngster Devdutt Padikkal (5) followed suit in the third over before Pandey and Nair took charge and stayed till the final over.
In the first match at the venue, a new look Bengal team began its campaign by thrashing Chhattisgarh by seven wickets.
Brief Scores
Chhattisgarh 118/7; 20 overs (Akhil Herwadkar 73; Mukesh Kumar 2/26) lost to Bengal 119/3; 17 overs (Sudip Chatterjee 51 not out, Wriddhiman Saha 24; Ravi Kiran 2/24) by seven wickets.
Baroda 124/9; 20 overs (Bhanu Pania 55; Nitin Yadav 3/22) lost to Services 128/8; 20 overs (Diwesh Pathania 41 not out; Ninad Rathva 3/8, Krunal Pandya 2/12) by two wickets.
Karnataka 166/4; 20 oves (Manish Pandey 84, Karun Nair 72; Mohit Avasthi 2/32, Tushar Deshpande 2/38) b Mumbai 157/6; 20 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 75; KC Cariappa 3/26, Krishnappa Gowtham 2/26) by nine runs.

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More