WTC Final: India Has Been A Top-Quality Side, Final Is Going To Be Tough, Says Ross Taylor | Cricket News


India and New Zealand are set for the big clash in the finals of the World Test Championship at Southampton starting June 18. This championship could lead the watershed moment for the revival of Test cricket in the international arena. On Tuesday, both teams had announced their final 15-member squads for the big game at the Ageas Bowl. New Zealand captain, Kane Williamson, who was out of the squad in the 2nd Test against England, is back after the injury, while Mayank Agarwal is out of India’s final 15 which confirms Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as an opener at Southampton. 

Ahead of the final clash veteran New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor said that the Indian line-up is full of world-class players, and the way all they played in recent time was amazing, especially against Australia. 


“India has been a fantastic side for a long period, their series win against Australia during the opponent’s home summer was great to watch. We saw world-class Indian bowling against a top-quality Australian side. They got success in England as well,” said Taylor. 

The 37-year-old ponders the threat that the Indian bowlers can give while bowling in English conditions. 

“We know the match will be very tough for us because when you go through the Indian line-up, they have top quality players in all departments, and have been the world number side for a longer period of time. We play them at home, away or at a neutral venue they will challenge us every time,” Taylor added. 


India had not won an ICC trophy under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, but they dominated the longest format of the game since 2015. 

The WTC final will begin on Friday at Southampton.  



India squad: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin. Ravindra Jadeja. Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj 

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young 


Topics mentioned in this article


Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.


For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More