Bahrain GP | Hamilton wins a thrilling season-opener

Lewis Hamilton produced another stunning demonstration of his supreme racing talent on Sunday to resist a charging Max Verstappen and win a thrilling season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix.

The defending seven-time champion defended with supreme skill over the closing laps in his Mercedes to hold off the Red Bull driver and claim a record-stretching 96th Formula One victory.

Hamilton came home seven-tenths of a second ahead of the Dutchman, who was forced to hand back the race lead in the closing laps after passing the champion with a move that had taken him off the track and beyond the limits.

As expected, Hamilton and his heir apparent delivered an exhilarating exhibition of racing as they stormed to the flag — the pair leaving third placed Valtteri Bottas, in the second Mercedes, to finish adrift by 37 seconds.

It was Hamilton’s first season-opening triumph since 2015 and surprised many observers after Red Bull had dominated pre-season testing and two days of practice and qualifying ahead of the race.

“Firstly, can I just say it’s the first time I’ve seen fans in a long time,” said a delighted Hamilton.

Difficult race

“What a difficult race that was – stopping early we knew it was going to be tough, but we had to cover Max and it was always going to take something pretty special to do it.”

A disappointed Verstappen said: “Of course, it’s a shame, but you also have to see the positives. We’re putting the fight on to them so it’s great to start the year like that”

Lando Norris was fourth for McLaren ahead of Sergio Perez, who had started from the pit lane in the second Red Bull, Charles Leclerc of Ferrari and Daniel Ricciardo, of McLaren. Carlos Sainz was eighth for Ferrari.

The results: 1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1hr 32mins 03.897s, 2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) + 0.745s, 3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) 37.383, 4. Lando Norris (McLaren) 46.466, 5.Sergio Perez (Red Bull-Honda) 52.047, 6. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) 59.090, 7. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) 1:06.004, 8. Carlos Sainz Jr (Ferrari) 1:07.100, 9. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) 1:25.692, 10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) 1:26.713, 11. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo) 1:28.864.

1 lap: 12. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo), 13. Esteban Ocon (Renault), 14. George Russell (Williams), 15. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), 16. Mick Schumacher (Haas) (all 1 lap).

4 laps: 17. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) 4 laps and 18. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) 4 laps

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More