Tadej Pogacar wins Tour de France for the second year in a row


Issued on:

Slovenian Tadej Pogacar claimed a second successive Tour de France title after Sunday’s 21st and final stage.


The 22-year-old UAE Emirates rider is the youngest rider to wear the overall leader’s yellow jersey at the end of the race for two years running.

He also won the white jersey for the best Under-25 rider and the polka-dot jersey for the mountains classification after a dominant performance throughout.

Denmark’s Jonas Vingegaard took second place overall with Ecuador’s Richard Carapaz in third.


Pogacar now heads to Tokyo for the Olympics, where he will be among the favourites for the road race next Saturday.

After a processional ride to Paris, multiple attacks took place in the eight laps around the finishing line on the Champs Elysees, with Mark Cavendish’s Deceuninck-Quick Step team controlling the gap.

The Briton, however, did not benefit from his usual lead-out man Mikael Morkov and Van Aert powered to victory for his third stage win in this year’s Tour.


Belgian Jasper Philipsen was second ahead of third-placed Cavendish, who wins the green jersey for the points classification for the second time, having won four stages this year.

Van Aert, who will take part in the time trial in Tokyo, won Saturday’s individual time trial after also winning a mountain stage featuring two ascents of the much-feared Mont Ventoux.



Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.


For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAzi is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More